July 22, 2013

Posted: July 22, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, Paleo, WOD

Another week is gone. T-minus 16 days til knee surgery. I am so dreading the recovery/downtime post-op. I haven’t taken more than 7 days off of CrossFit since I started 3 years ago. I am sure that I will be back in the gym, but the question is ‘What will I be doing’?

I think after surgery I can do some one-legged burpees, some bench presses, some dead-hang pullups and a lot of situps. I am not sure if GHD will work for my leg or not, but I think not. This is going to give me a lot of time to work on some upper body and core muscle groups.

Saturday, we did a WOD that was deceptively sucky. It was an EMOM 20 with even minutes doing push presses and odd minutes doing kettlebell swings. 100 push presses at 115# was pretty taxing in the last 2 rounds. The kettlebell swings were fine, but the presses really took it out of me. At the end, my right triceps muscle was wanting to fail. Great workout that did not leave me wanting more.

Personal Stats

WOD – EMOM 20:00  Even: 115# Push Press x 10  Odd: 53# KB Swings x 15
Diet – 90/10
Sleep – 7 hours
Rowing – 1000m

CrossFit Rowing WOD

4x10min w/ 1 min Rest
As Follows:
1. 4min @18 s/m Steady, 1min @20 s/m Pressure, 4min @18 Steady, 1min @20 Pressure
1min Rest
2. 4min @20 Steady, 1min @22 Pressure, 4min @20 Steady, 1min @22 Pressure
1min Rest
3. 4min @22 Steady, 1min @24 Pressure, 4min @22 Steady, 1min @24 Pressure
1min Rest
4. 4min @24 Steady, 1min @26 Pressure, 4min @24 Steady, 1min @26 Pressure

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (TUE): Repeat 200m, recover 1:00 until form/pace deteriorates

Concept 2 WOD

Row four 1000 meter pieces. Row for two minutes at light pressure between each 1000.

Interesting Links

Poor Diet Sinks US in Health Rankings – CrossFit Journal

I am not sure why this was shocking to the researchers. Heads in the sand?

Leave a Reply

