June 27, 2013

Posted: June 27, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, WOD

I did no rowing at all yesterday. I used my normal warm-up rowing time to warm-up my muscles with a few rounds of empty bar lifts; dead-lifts, hang cleans, presses, snatch balances, and overhead squats. I spent more time later working on power cleans with 75# and then I went right into the EMOM power snatches for 10:00 at 95#. The 95# was too light, so I changed up to hang power snatches because I was sharing a bar with another guy.

The WOD that I planned for the day was a 3 rounder of a 4 minute AMRAP of 2 squat cleans 115#, 2 push jerks, and 6 burpees with a 2 minute rest between rounds. With my bad knee(s), I didn’t want to do the squat cleans, so I bumped the weight from 115 to 135 and did power cleans. I scored 64 reps, 54 reps, and 47 reps. I think I had the best score of the night, so maybe the additional weight wasn’t enough of an equalizer after removing the squats. I tend to think that it was, based on how I was feeling at the end of it. That WOD was legit!

I normally coach from 6-7 on Wed night, but last night we had so many folks, that I didn’t get finished until 7:25. That left me with no time for my cool down rowing, but I did not have enough gas left to do much anyway.

I hit a milestone this week. My body-fat measurement broke 13 with a reading of 12.9 yesterday. I am hoping to get below 12 before my knee surgery in 6 weeks. I think I can get there if I keep working hard and minding my nutrition.

The article that I have linked below is an eye-opening look at professional cycling and the culture of PEDs in cycling. It was very surprised to learn how rampant performance enhancing drugs were/are used in that sport.

Personal Stats

WOD – 3 rounds: AMRAP 4:00 – 2 power cleans 135#, 2 push jerks 135#, & 6 burpees with 2:00 rest. 165 reps
Diet – Very tight + a beer
Sleep – 7 hours
Rowing – 0 meters

CrossFit Rowing WOD

Rest Day

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (THU): Repeat 3:00 on / 3:00 off, until form/pace deteriorates

Concept 2 WOD

Row three 1000 meter pieces. Row for two minutes at light pressure between each 1000.

Interesting Links

Rider on the Storm – CrossFit Journal

Leave a Reply

