Apr 8, 2013

Posted: April 8, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, WOD

I’m back. I should be posting on my normal schedule now. I’ve been depressed with my knee injury and missing the gym. I also developed walking pneumonia from the cough that I first mentioned on March 12th. I am finally through the pneumonia with the help of some good antibiotics. Yesterday, I went and watched the final workouts for 13.5 and rowed a little to test the waters. I can’t decide if the knee brace made my knee sore or if it was the rowing. It was sore for the rest of the day, but feels really good today. I ended up coughing some more bits out of my lungs, but I am excited about my recovery.

The doctor said I will need surgery to either repair or remove the torn meniscus, so I need to avoid stuff that might tear/shred it further. I would rather preserve what I can for a better long-term prognosis. Doc is appealing the denied MRI, but in the meantime, he said I could do some cycling or rowing as long as I am careful and realize that the bit of meniscus could flip into the joint and cause a problem. We have a trip planned to Disney World in June, so I need to get under the knife soon so I can get into recovery in time for the trip.

Going forward, I will be spending as much time as my injury allows on the rower. I will also be concentrating on pullups, pushups, and some core work too. I will probably be following the CrossFit Rowing WOD closely, but with a reduced intensity.

Personal Stats

WOD – just some light rowing
Diet – meh
Sleep – 8 solid hours
Rowing – 2000 & 1000

CrossFit Rowing WOD

1k Row
– @24-26 s/m (note average 500m split)
– 4′ rest
3 x 3’ On 1’ Off as follows
– Hold 1k split
– 3′ @26 s/m, 25 s/m, 24 s/m (rate changes every minute)
– 3′ @25, 24, 23
– 3′ @24, 23, 22
– 4′ rest
2 x 3’ On 1’ Off as follows (holding 1k split):
– 3′ @26, 24, 22
– 3′ @24, 22, 20

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (TUE): Repeat 7:00 on, 3:00 off until form/pace deteriorates

Concept 2 WOD

Row six 500 meter pieces. Row for one minute at light pressure between each 500.

Interesting Links

10 Commandments of CrossFit – CrossFit Obsessed

Leave a Reply

