Mar 25, 2013

Posted: March 25, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, WOD

Well, my CrossFit Open is over. The knee pain than I had was the real deal. On Sunday, I was attempting to beat my previous attempt at 13.3. My knee was sore, but felt good enough to go after a good warmup. I was mentally prepared to get further and thought I could play through the pain.

It started well, my pace was good and not too taxing on the wallballs. I finished in 7:51 and moved on too double unders. Instead of one at a time, I was actually getting several at a time. Then, somewhere between 10 and 15, my knee popped and gave way and I collapsed face down on the flooring. Agony ensued and time expired. I was certain that I had blown up my ACL

The doctor doesn’t think any ligaments are torn, at least not too badly, but I likely tore the anterior edges of the left and right meniscus. This is my good knee! I’ll have to wait and see what the MRI says, but since I can’t put weight on it, I would say there is a good chance that my 13.4 score will be zero.

Personal Stats

WOD – (Sun) 13.3 – Pop, Crack, Splat
Diet – 80/20
Sleep – 9 solid hours
Rowing – 1000m 3:40 warmup  & 500m 1:40 pre-wod

CrossFit Rowing WOD

Double Pyramids
2 x 19min as follows …
– 4′ @18 s/m, 3′ @20, 2′ @22, 1′ @24, 2′ @22, 3′ @20, 4′ @18
2min Rest
– 4′ @20, 3′ @22, 2′ @24, 1′ @26, 2′ @24, 3′ @22, 4′ @20

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (TUE): :45 on / 2:00 off, :45 on / 1:45 off, … :45 on :15 off, :45 on

Concept 2 WOD

Row four 750 meter pieces. Row for two minutes at light pressure between each 750.

Interesting Links

Sam Briggs says Hello to the haters – YouTube

Leave a Reply

