Mar 20, 2013

Posted: March 20, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, WOD
Tags: , ,

I just downloaded the new Anthrax Anthems album, and there is this great song on there called “Big Eyes” that I had never heard before. I did a little research and found the original was done by Cheap Trick on their second album. How did I get through my entire childhood and well into my adult life without ever hearing this song? What a great song! I ended up downloading Cheap Trick’s “In Color” album too. Their early stuff rocks. Pick up these albums if you dare.

Well, tonight is the unleashing of 13.3. I am hoping for some wallballs and kettlebell swings. My goal is to stay near my current ranking through the end. If I adjust up or down by 10, that is an acceptable range to me. Hopefully, we won’t have too many of the exercises that I am terrible at performing in the next few WODs.

Yesterday was a good rest day for me. I don’t want to jinx myself, but my sleep has been really good. I switched from a magnesium supplement to ZMA at night. So far, so good. I was taking the mag with a B6, but couldn’t do the zinc without stomach upset. The ZMA seems to be very tolerable and may be helping me sleep soundly.

I haven’t decided what rowing I will do tonight. The evening WOD looks awesome, but I want to try to get in early for some chronic cardio. I haven’t done a 5K in a while… I want to start ramping up my erging for summer and that may mean long rowing sessions at lunch and then the evening WOD with some rowing. I will probably start that a week after the open ends. The 5K today may be a good way to get mentally prepared for longer session to come.

Personal Stats

WOD – (Tue) Rest day

Diet – 80/20

Sleep – 7 hours

Rowing – 0

CrossFit Rowing WOD

3 Rounds For Time
500m Row
10 Handstand Push Ups
15 Kettle Bell Swings (1.5/1 pood)

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (TUE): Repeat 7:00 on, 7:00 off, until form/pace deteriorates

Concept 2 WOD

Row a single 20 minute piece at a consistent pace. Every four minutes, row ten strokes hard and then return to your previous pace.

Interesting Links

The mechanics of the Pull-Up and why women CAN do them – Scientific American

Leave a Reply

