Mar 15, 2013

Posted: March 15, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, Mobility WOD, WOD
Tags: , ,

Gut check! Wow, that 10 minute sprint was brutal. Annie and Lindsey are amazing creatures!

To get prepped and ready for the WOD, I watched the Mobility WOD video for 13.2 where they provided great tips. I worked out a few tips of my own, but my biggest concern was being able to stay moving. I didn’t have a chance to check the scoreboard before my attempt, so I didn’t really have a number in mind. I estimated that I would get 210, but a 240 was the number I decided on as a target.

During my warmup, I rolled my hammies out with a 6 inch diameter pvc pipe. I placed a 45# bumper plate on my lap and rolled for a while. I then asked Stephen to stand on the plate while a rolled out for a few more minutes. 200+ pounds of weight on the hamstrings really helped with the preparation. This will be something I will be doing on a frequent basis.

Between the deadlifts and the box jumps, the metabolic engine was running on full blast. I was able to motor through without a break with the exception of a quick drink so that my tongue could move freely in my mouth (it was stuck). I ended up a bit short of my 8 round goal and scored only a 232. I am certain that I can top that next time. My current score puts me in about 8th place in the region overall (once validated), but there are lots of people that haven’t submitted yet.

I had no wrist pain and no coughing outbreaks during the WOD, but my back and hamstrings were on fire. I am taking a rest day today and I haven’t decided about Saturday yet, so I am trying to save my wrist for the competition.

Other scores from our box (from memory) Katie got a 301, Brandon scored 265, Andy 230, Michelle 231, and Annie finished with 277 .

I am going to the doctor today for a lipid profile. I hope that my fitness level, my diet, and my supplementation help return some fantastic numbers. I will be reporting them once they are available.

Personal Stats

WOD – (Thur) 13.2

Diet – 90/10

Sleep – 6.5 solid hours

Rowing – 2000m warmup 7:49 & 2000m warm down 8:40

CrossFit Rowing WOD

Rest day

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (THU): Repeat 1600m, recover 3:00

Concept 2 WOD

Row twenty 20 second all-out bursts with 40 seconds of light rowing in between. If you have a lot of rowing experience, you may want to row these pieces at a slightly higher damper setting to add more of a strength-building component to the workout.

Interesting Links

13.2 Prep and Strategy – Mobility WOD

Leave a Reply

