Mar 12, 2013

Posted: March 12, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, News, WOD
Tags: , ,

NEW PR Alert2000 m: 6:59.1

Last night, I knew that I should take it easy on my wrist, so I planned to spend the evening on the rower. I started with a 2k row with the damper on 7 (~135 drag) and completed that in 7:40. I took about 10 minutes off while I was shooting pics of the 5:00 class.

Earlier in the day, I had considered going for a 2000 PR, but my warmup wasn’t as encouraging as I had hoped since I think I have a touch of bronchitis and have been coughing a bit after my workouts for the past few weeks and yesterday was no exception. I decided that I could beat my previous 7:07 by just maintaining a 1:45 pace, so I went for it. I started off at 1:45 but by the second 500, I had slowed to a 1:48 pace. I knew that I had to get some negative splits to make up the difference so I rowed a 1:43 and was able to maintain that pace to the finish. At the completion of the effort, the clock showed 6:59.0. I really think that when I am 100%, I can maintain a 1:40 pace through the finish. I plan to test again a few weeks after the Open and once I give my wrist a chance to heal.

An interesting thing has been happening on the computers on the rowers. I know of at least 3 examples where the completed time on the computer differs by .1 seconds from what is stored on the computer. When I rowed a PR 500 m in 1:25.7, it stored on my card as 1:25.8. My friend Andy, rowed the 500 in 1:25.6 and it stored on the computer as 1:25.7. Last night, my time showed as 6:59.0 and saved as a point one. I would have been upset if I had broken into the next second lower and it had changed from 6:58.9 to 6:59.0. I suspect there are some hundredths of seconds at play here, but the question is: why display a different time than is saved? If there is some rounding with fractional seconds, why not show that at the end of the effort instead of waiting until time is being reviewed on the card or computer?

The rowing did not bother my wrist at all, but it is still in bad shape. I could not push doors open with that hand yesterday and I think it is only marginally better today. I am hoping that the 13.2 WOD will not be wrist intensive. I think ring dips, wall balls, push ups, and maybe even pullups will give me trouble while it is inflamed. I could go for another metcon, but I think that a more realistic WOD might be a strength workout. Fingers on my good hand remain crossed that I won’t have a DNF on this year’s open.

For inspiration, click the link below and read about Jenny LaBaw who scored a 150 with a freshly broken foot. Can you imagine 90 burpees with a broken foot? How about 60 snatches at a decent weight? She gets my vote for inspirational athlete.

Personal Stats

WOD – (Mon) just some rowing

Diet – 85/15

Sleep – 5 solid hours with 1 hour awake from 1:45 to 2:45

Rowing – 2000m – 7:40 warmup then 2000m in 6:59.1

CrossFit Rowing WOD

5 x 800m w/ 2min Rest
1st @2k Pace (w/ Start)
2nd @2k+3
3rd @2k+2
4th @2k+1
5th @2k

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (TUE): Repeat :60 on, :60 off, until form/pace deteriorates

Concept 2 WOD

Row for a total of 5000 meters at a sustainable intensity, varying your stroke rate as follows: row 1000 meters @ 26 spm, 1000 meters @ 24 spm, 1000 meters @ 22 spm, 1000 meters @ 24 spm, and 1000 meters @ 26 spm.

Interesting Links

Need Some Inspiration – Invictus

Leave a Reply

