My CrossFit Friends: Katie

Posted: March 8, 2013 in CrossFit Friends, CrossFit Tulsa

Today, I am profiling another one of my CrossFit friends: Katie Rodgers. I’m pretty sure that if Katie didn’t need to work, she would spend all of her time in the gym. With only one and a half years of CrossFit experience under her belt, she’ll be one to watch in the future. She can go fast and move a lot of weight. She loves to run, but I see her on the erg from time to time. I’ll get her converted to a 50/50 rower/runner soon enough.

IMG_0556

Name:
Katie Marie Rodgers

Age:
25

Day Job:
Critical Care Nurse

Years CrossFitting / Start Date:
1.5 years/Sept. 2011

How did you find CrossFit:
One of my coworkers opened a CrossFit gym and asked me to join. I haven’t looked back since.

Favorite CrossFit Movement:
Snatches/Thrusters, I love the challenge.

Least Favorite Movement:
Muscle ups/Ring Dips. I am a heavy kid!

Days on / Days off:
Usually 3 days on, 1 day off, 2 days on (in theory), but really whenever I can get into the gym with my crazy work schedule.

Most Recent PR(s)?
4:24 Fran, 10:01 Helen, and 330lb Deadlift

Preference: Metcon or Strength or Combo?
Combo

What is your next goal?
To make Regionals

IMG_4462

Goats? What skills do you need to work on?
Muscle Ups, Ring Dips, Pull Ups, and my lifting form.

Bacon: Crispy or Chewy?
Is there a wrong answer? Both! I love Bacon!

Describe the Katie Rodgers WOD:

  • 87 Burpee buy in
  • 4 RFT
  • 1-400m run/500m row
  • 9-HSPU
  • 12-Power Snatches 95/135
  • 28-Box Jumps
  • 25-DU
  • 87 Butterfly sit up cash out

Best advice for a WOD:
Strategize! Don’t sacrifice form for time and don’t cheat yourself, do each rep like you are being judged.

Last cheat meal:
Is Tequila a meal? Just kidding, probably a big juicy cheese burger.

Favorite girl WOD:
A tie between Kelly and Nancy

Competitions?  Results?

  • Battle Over the Redlands 2012: RX Women 6th 
  • Fittest in Oklahoma 2013: RX Women 4th

Thoughts on Rowing as part of a well-rounded CrossFitter skill?
Very important. I am not the best rower, but I am getting better. Every competition I have been in there has been an emphasis on rowing, so it is very important!

katie

Leave a Reply

