Mar 8, 2013

Posted: March 8, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, Paleo, WOD
Tags: , ,

I did the 13.1 WOD last night. I had hoped to get 150 reps in then land a few snatches at 165. With 165 being my recent 1RM PR, I might have been asking a lot. What I didn’t account for was being gassed before I hit the bar for that 3rd round of snatches.

I finished the 3rd set of burpees and got the bar ready with about 30 seconds left, this was less time than I had estimated in my mental walk-through. Brandon and I were tied up at that point, but he attempted the load first. I think I lost my positive thinking when his first attempt failed. He is quite a bit stronger than I am and I believed he would get one. With his failed rep in mind, I got my lift lift to chin level, stepped back, and with 5 seconds left failed again at head level.

I don’t know yet if I will attempt it again. I might be able to land one or two at 165, or I might be able to improve my 135# time. I think it will be a decision that I make once the Masters 40-44yo leader board starts filling up.

On a rowing related note, I have increased the damper setting to 7 for my normal rowing. This gives me a drag factor of 135+ and I am working on being able to tolerate the additional load at high rates. Yesterday, I rowed my normal 1000m warmup at that setting. I kept it about 1:50 until the final 200, then cranked it up to about a 1:38 pace. Feels good.

Personal Stats

WOD – (Thur) Games WOD 13.1 – 150 last set of snatches completed at 14:00

Diet – 75/25 should have eaten a sweet potato or some beets with lunch

Sleep – 7 good hours

Rowing – 1000m at damper setting 7 – ~135 drag factor – 3:42 warmup

CrossFit Rowing WOD

5 Rounds For Time …
10 Calories (As few strokes as possible)
10 Power Cleans (95/65)
10 Push Ups

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Run (THU): Repeat 400m, recover 2:00 until form/pace deteriorates

Concept 2 WOD

Row a 500 meter time trial, going for your personal best. After you’ve rowed, enter your time in the Online Ranking and see where you stand with others of your age, gender and weight class.

Interesting Links

The Nutritional Establishment is Scared of Paleo – FED

Leave a Reply

