Feb 28, 2013

Posted: February 28, 2013 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, WOD
Tags: , ,

I was mentally ready for last night’s WOD. I was aware of the high scores from the day crew and I knew what I had to do to post a better score. My previous best on this workout was 308 reps last summer and I was confident that I could smash that with ease. My goal was to get six the first round then five for the next round or two, and finally finish with some rounds of 4 plus extra reps.

I was not prepared to lose my pushups in the 3rd round. I started breaking up my pushups at the end of the round and was disappointed to do so. Somewhere late in the fourth round, I stopped doing touch and gos for the power cleans, but still kept a decent pace with no rests except for pauses in pushups. I was very glad to get to the last minute of the fifth round.

That format is one of my favorites. I prefer an endurance metcon with weights, but this one was enough for me. I was shocked to walk away with the most reps of the day. I think I had about 20 more reps than the next Rx athlete.

Today is a rest day and I am beginning a deload week to get ready for the Games on Thursday.

Personal Stats

WOD – (Wed)  “The Chief” – 6, 5, 4 + 4 pushups, 4 + 5 pushups, 4 + 4 pushups = 23 rounds + 25 reps = 439 reps

Diet – 100%

Sleep – Good: 7 hours

Rowing – 1000m – 3:32.4

CrossFit Rowing WOD

Rest day

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

Row (THU): Repeat :30 on :30 off until form/pace deteriorates

Concept 2 WOD

Row a single 15 minute piece. The first five minutes @ 20 spm. Then four minutes @ 22 spm, three @ 24, two @ 26 and one @ 28.

Interesting Links

How to Foam Roll Like a Pro – InfoGraphicsArchive

Leave a Reply

