May 4, 2012

Posted: May 4, 2012 in Concept2, CrossFit Rowing, Interesting Link, WOD

Today’s CrossFit Rowing WOD looks awesome. This is exactly what you need to build up to a great 1k or 2k. You are going to be looking for pace and consistency. Set the splits for 250 and go.

I tried to go for a PR in the 500 a few weeks ago and totally sucked. My pace was bad and the start totally doomed me to failure. My PR is still 1:33 and has been gathering dust since January. I was feeling a little depressed about it since I should be able to at least nudge up close to my best without dying a miserable death on the erg.

On Wednesday, the Tulsa WOD was 4 x 400 running with 3:00 rest. I sat down on the erg to row a 4 x 500 and I ended up being very excited about my times; 1:34, 1:38, 1:38, and 1:42. I did hit 176 on my heartrate monitor on round 3, so I really couldn’t sprint to the finish, but overall I couldn’t be happier. PR should ensue.

CrossFit Rowing WOD

2 x 2k w/ 5min rest

1st 2k:
750m @ Race Pace
250m @ 18 spm (paddle light)
750m @ Race Pace
250m @ 18 spm (paddle light)

rest 5min

2nd 2k:
750m @ Race pace
500m @ 18 spm (paddle light)
750m @ Race Pace

CrossFit Endurance – Tues/Thurs/Sun

C2 Row (THU): 5 x 1000m, rest 2:00, hold splits within 3-5 seconds

Concept 2 WOD

3 x 1000m / 1 min easy

Row three 1000 meter pieces. Row for one minute at light pressure between each 1000.

Interesting Links

Why sprint intervals are awesome for your fat loss goals – LINK

Leave a Reply

