Do you remember when you first started CrossFit?

Posted: January 22, 2012 in Survey

As you may know, I follow lots of CrossFit blogs. Sarah and Ditte  from Butcher’s Garage in Copenhagen, Denmark have a theme running on their blog where they ask their athletes a series of questions about their CrossFit experience.

Copy the questions below, paste them into the comments, and provide your answers.

1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?

2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?

3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?

4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?

5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?

6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?

Comments
  1. brett woodward says:

    1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?

    July 1, 2010 at CrossFit Tulsa. Collin’s soccer team was on a 10 week conditioning program and it looked fun. I had never heard of CrossFit before.

    2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?

    I did the baseline test as a freebie, but my first WOD was 3 rounds – 10 pullups, 10 dips, 10 situps, 10 squats. The real WOD was 10 rounds, but Stephanie told me to do no more than 3.

    It was terrible. Couldn’t do 10 pullups even with a super band. On my first dip, I twanged a nerve in my thumb and it was numb the rest of the night. It was a sad confirmation that I was not fit.

    3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?

    I was unable to RX anything but bodyweight exercises, and only a few of those. I was surprised at how hard box jumps were and how much of a gasser they are.

    4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?

    I was pretty good at push presses and Cindy was a good WOD for me. Now, I like the Fight Gone Bad format.

    5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?

    Working out as a team, competing against yourself and others is awesome. I also really enjoy the people. I think all CrossFitters are awesome – haven’t met one I disliked.

    6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?

    If your goal is to lose weight, you can absolutely do it. How quickly you do it is up to you. You have to first get a reasonable level of fitness before you can push yourself to the limit.

    Go anaerobic.

    Rest days are earned and you should take them. Ignore the urge to go a 4th day in a row unless you are just going to do some active recovery.

    Read everything.

    Get your nutrition right.

    -b

    • Norita says:

      1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?

      May 2011 at CrossfitTulsa We had been trying to do some crossfit type workouts at the firestation and I was getting interested in it, then I saw a story on channel 6 news about CrossfitTulsa, so I called about do it. Stephanie told me to come on over that night at 6pm and be ready to work out. So, I went there, only to find Stephanie was not there and the 5pm class was really intense and intimidating. I was scared. Jeremiah made me do a few pull ups and something else, said “you’ll do, get warmed up” and so it began……

      2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?

      I can’t remember exactly, but it had burpees and 50 meter sprints. I sucked but was hooked.

      3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?

      I came from regular gold’s gym type weightlifting, where you don’t cheat… uh, I mean “kip” or use your momentum to move the weight, and you never EVER drop the weights. So, it has been and still is hard for me to swing my body to move the weights, I still fall back on the strict muscle it up type of movements. It very hard for me to get in the mindset of “use your legs to move the weight” when the weight is going over my head… uh my legs are down “here” not up there! So, I still struggle with heavy weights that require me to use my lower body power to move the weights up high. I still get out of breath quickly. Of course everyone who knows me at all knows my struggle with Overhead squats. I still can’t do them very heavy, 53# is my PR so far, but I am able to do the movement now without falling down (yes, I really have fallen down)

      4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?

      None of it is my favorite, I hate it all. Really.

      5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?

      I really like the positive encouragement at CrossfitTulsa. I feel like I am encouraged to be the best I can be, not to be something that someone else thinks I should be.

      6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?

      hang in there it will get easier!

  2. Jerimiah says:

    1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?

    I heard about it while on the forums of another weight lifting site. I started doing it in the gym at work on my lunch break.

    2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?

    Don’t remember my first wod, but I know that everyday sucked.

    3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?

    I was 252 pounds, all in my belly. It took three weeks of working everyday in the parallel bars to get 1 full ROM squat. One of the first things I remember doing is hurting my back doing the 10 warm-up Push-ups.

    4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?

    I have always loved the thruster, if I could only do 1 exercise it would be that.

    5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?

    1st wod I did in billy wilands garage, 12 days of christmas.

    6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?

    Nutrition is key, the more closely you monitor your diet the more your body will change and the better your workouts will be. You will have good days and bad days do whatever your best is today.

  3. Andy says:

    1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?
    May 2010. I was looking for an intense program for my son to follow during the summer to prepare him for fall baseball in college. I did some research and found an article about Crossfit Tulsa in the Tulsa World. I came by one day and spoke with Brandon about what I was looking for. I had only planned to do it long enough for my son to get involved and comfortable. So much for best laid plans…

    2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?
    It was “Fran” and even though I was expecting it to be tough, I didn’t really understand how tough it was going to be. Steven and I both were hurting pretty bad. But it was a great hurt. It was EXACTLY what I was looking for to get Steven stronger and in great conditioning shape.

    3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?
    The ones that killed me were the stationary overhead holds. After years of baseball wear and tear I had very little flexibility in my shoulders. Additionally my core was no where near strong enough to support any stationary overhead hold. I could not even do a 45# overhead squat. Not even CLOSE! I had to use PVC pipe. And even that was ugly. I could do about half of the WOD’s rx’d. It depended on the length of time/number of reps and obviously the weight. But I was also stupidly stubborn and probably should have not done many of them rx’d.

    4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?
    Steven and I started out following the Crossfit Football WOD’s. Brandon, Darryl, Cody, and a few others liked the combination workouts and were doing those most of the time. And it fit what Steven needed. So we listened to Brandon and followed what he was doing. I didn’t really have a favorite WOD. I just really liked the combination of a strength WOD and a daily WOD that we were doing. If I had to pick a favorite lift then it would probably have been the bench press. Today, I really don’t have a favorite. I just enjoy that I am able to do them all now.

    5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?
    First and foremost it has become something my family loves to do together. All of us are members of Crossfit Tulsa and love what it has done for us on many levels. Along with that are the friendships that we have made. Obviously I love what it has done for me physically and mentally. It “cured” my lower back problems that were absolutely debilitating. And it provides a “fix” for my competitiveness. Even if I can’t compete with everyone in terms of time and weight, I can compete with myself to better my times and weights. I am simply hooked…

    6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?
    Do not have any preconceived ideas about anything. Even if you are an experienced athlete come in expecting to learn. Check your ego AND insecurities at the door and enjoy the exercise and fellowship. Have a desire to work hard and DO NOT GIVE UP!

  4. Pam says:

    1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?
    February 2011. My family had been going for a while and kept trying to get me to go but I refused. Then Andy signed me up for the one month “On Ramp” and said I had to give it a try. Damn him for my new obsession!

    2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?
    I don’t really remember what my first WOD after On Ramp was, but I remember asking if they had an intermediate class for those that were just out of the On Ramp program and I was told that this WAS the intermediate class and I thought I would die right then and there!

    3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?
    I found it all difficult! I could not and still cannot do most WODS as RX’d. I finally did one RX’d two weeks ago and was so happy that I was pushed into to doing it. I may not get it done in record time, but I will get it done!

    4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?
    I am still pretty darn good at the Deadlift, I think it is my calling. Favorite WOD? Anything that uses all the different body parts and gives us a good all over workout. Must say that Saturday Team WODS are probably my favorite!

    5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?
    EVERYTHING! The people that workout there are the best. I love how we are not just a “Gym” where you come in and work out and leave and never get to know people. We are more of an extended family. We are there to support each other at the gym and away as well!

    6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?
    My advice is for women, measure yourself before you start working out and hide your scales. We women are trained to hate seeing our weight numbers rise, but we have to build muscle before we really start losing fat. That means we are likely to gain weight before we lose it. So do the measuring and the visual measuring more than the scales. Also, to anyone that is wanting to get fit, you can’t do it eating the way always have. You must change your diet to get fit and healthy! Remember it isn’t a diet, it is a lifestyle change!

    Oh and the one thing that I wish I had done differently, I wish I had started earlier!

  5. Tasha says:

    1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?
    I started CrossFit in August 2011 at CrossFit-Tulsa, I’ve heard about CrossFit through a guy at my office who goes to CrossFit Owasso.

    2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?
    My first WOD was an OnRamp WOD, 3 rounds for time run 200 meters, squats, push ups and ring rows. It sparked my competitive drive since I was doing it with a bunch of friends, I felt great afterwards and wanted more.

    3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?
    Box jumps I found difficult (fear of falling over the box). I will always try to do the RX weight but at times I know my body can’t be pushed that hard and the weight is just too much.

    4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?
    Favorite WOD would be Annie, but Fran has grown on me since I can do RX on thrusthers and pull ups.

    5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?
    EVERYTHING! My stregth and cardio have increased tremendously and I have made some amazing friends.

    6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.?
    Its not about the weight on the scale its about how you look and feel. Women worry about their weight but they forget muscle weighs more than fat and being toned is so much more sexier than being thin. The only thing I wish I could have done differently, started earlier-the guy at work has been going for a few years and I always said I’m going to try it out but never got around to looking into it until I brought it up to my friends and it was a done deal.

  6. Doug Decker says:

    1. When and where did you start CrossFit, and how did you hear about it?
    Heard about it from a friend named Billy Wiland around 2006 or 2007. First 3 WOD’s were in his garage.

    2. What was your first WOD, how did it go, and how did you feel afterwards?
    Cindy. I completed 7 rounds and some pullups (which were all assisted). Hurt like hell for a few days.

    3. Do you remember anything about when you started? Which exercises did you find difficult and was there anything you we’re unable to perform RX’ed?
    As I started I bounced around from my garage gym, to a class at the to the Crossfit Tulsa box…one of the 3. It took me a good 2 years to fully understand how the programming, over time, just works! How your body responds and the purpose behind the style of training that is prescribed. Being an athlete I did greatly enjoy the challenge of constantly varied workouts though. There were many WOD’s that I could not do RX’ed due to strength, Fran, Nancy. The Overhead Squat being the hardest of all for me of the movements. Shoulder flexibility, core strength and proper tension under load were all culprits and played a role in a big weakness with anything over head

    4. What was your favorite WOD and lift when you started – and what is it now?
    When I first started I enjoyed the body weight wod’s, espcecially box jumps and wallballs and loved Helen, simply because of my lack of strength. They would all crush me, but I could complete those respectably well. Now, even though I am still not the strongest person around, I really like doing WOD’s that include some heavy weighted movements. Be it any squat, deadlift, Press or Olympic Lift. The way ones body reacts to the loaded movements mixed with gymnastics or monostructural movements is amazing.
    Currently, I think my favorite lift is the clean. I recently attended an Olympic Lifting Seminar and the technique, style and speed of the lift make it an enjoyable one to perform. Not to mention it is probably one of the best all body movements someone can perform to develop speed and overall strength and coordination.
    I still hate to back squat though, even though I like WOD’s with it built in.

    5. What has been your best CrossFit experience(s)?
    I really enjoyed getting to know the people at Crossfit Tulsa, especially as a trainer. I would get a rush every time someone would conquer a fear or a movement. Helping others get better, and being a part of that has easily been my best experience within Crossfit. Followed closely by being able to branch out and have my own box

    6. Do you have any good advice for people who have just started CrossFit? Anything you wish that you had known/had done differently etc.? NUTRITION, CONSISTENCY & PATIENCE ARE THE KEYS!. The foundation to making gains and getting better is nutrition. If you do not properly feed your body before, after and in between your wod’s it is not going to respond as best as it could. Likewise, trying it for a few weeks is only going to frustrate you. Be CONSISTENT in your training AND your REST days AND your nutrition and be PATIENT. It takes time to retrain the body to function and work properly after most people do year and years and maybe even more years…of damage by doing nothing or all of the wrong things.
    One piece of advise I wish I had listened to- REST. and DO WHAT YOU HATE! “Conquering the uncomfortable is where success is!” – ME (Doug Decker)

  7. Doug Decker says:

    sorry for the mispelled words. I rushed through this while multi-tasking 🙂

Leave a Reply

